My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick Book Review

Book review(So I kind of read The Boy Most Likely To way before reading this one. (Tim & Alice’s story). And to be completely honest, I did not like The Boy Most Likely To, and it has nothing to do with reading it before reading My Life Next Door. It was just pointless, the whole thing. Anyway, I won’t be writing another review, because I’ve already written a miserable one. The thing I hate the most about Huntley’s books is her writing, which is probably the most important thing to consider when writing any review on any book. But I’m going to be completely honest here, I totally loved the message this book held. I loved Sam and Jase’s relationship (they’re couple goals af) and their unconditional love towards each other. Jase. Oh,Jase. I need a Jase in my life. I absolutely adored his love towards his family, how he took care of his siblings, how protective he is towards Andy, how considerate and soft he is with George. And Patsy. I loved Patsy. Definitely one of my favorite characters here. Who wouldn’t love a kid whose first words to say were “Boob” and “Poop”? God, I love her. I loved the character(s) transformation(s), especially Tim’s and Sam’s. I really wanted to know what happened with Nan at the end. Huntley kind of left her out as if she’s never been there, which I totally loathed. I hated Sam’s mom, even after what happened at the end. And how she let Clay control her every move. I HATED HIM SO MUCH. And I should frigging stop reading series backwards (although its not really a series, but you get my point).

So overall, I rated this book 5 stars because of the swoon-worthy scenes between Jase and Sam, the character development and transformation, and the gorgeous cover. Yeah, you heard me. Oh, and a -1 star for the writing. There were a lot of useless and pointless scenes.512294652


Synopsis

“One thing my mother never knew, and would disapprove of most of all, was that I watched the Garretts. All the time.”

The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, messy, affectionate. And every day from her rooftop perch, Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs up next to her and changes everything.

As the two fall fiercely for each other, stumbling through the awkwardness and awesomeness of first love, Jase’s family embraces Samantha – even as she keeps him a secret from her own. Then something unthinkable happens, and the bottom drops out of Samantha’s world. She’s suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself?

A transporting debut about family, friendship, first romance, and how to be true to one person you love without betraying another.

One thought on “My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick Book Review

Leave a Reply

