I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson Book Review

Book review(I picked this book up expecting it to be sort of overrated and corny or something. But it totally blew me away. I had a tough time at first. I wasn’t so excited to go into it. The first 150 or so pages were torture. But then it got really exciting.

I totally understand why this book won so many awards and why everyone basically loved it.
Noah and Jude’s relationship is the center of this whole book. We’ve all heard these rumors that twins can communicate telepathically and whatnot. But this is not it. The way each of them is so protective of the other was amazing. And how one can feel the other’s pain. Or notice when the other lies. When one of them is in danger…etc. But things are not sugarcoated here. Like any sister-brother relationship, theirs has its ups and downs. The jealousy, the pranks, the temporary hatred. I’ve never read anything that deals with a brother-sister relationship that is as strong and beautiful as this one.
The second thing was how each of them (mostly Noah) was trying to find themselves throughout the novel. I loved how his mother supported him and told him to come out exactly as he is. And that “We can’t help who we love.”
I loved G.
and Oscar
What’s with the English fictional characters these days? I can’t even hear his British accent but I feel weak to my knees when he talks. (I totally relate to Jude when she’s around him.
Talking about this book doesn’t do it justice. I was just pinpointing (i guess).
Everything in this book felt warm and cozy. It felt like I was part of the book. And honestly, I don’t always feel like this while reading a book. So I know that Jandy Nelson did something right here.520820994.jpg


Synopsis

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

3 thoughts on “I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson Book Review

  1. Satou Johns says:

    This book is beautiful! For me it was amazing from start to end! haha I like the imagery, the colors, and how Noah sees life all full of colors and fantasy! This book has so many beautiful quotes that for me to chose one was so hard! “Warm and cosy” are perfect adjectives for the story!

    I love your post, review, and blog! I follow you everywhere haha Love your pictures too! Thank you for sharing! I hope you could take a look at mine! and I hope you like it! :3

    Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

