A Painful Confession

Hey guys!!

So today I  decided to come clean concerning the fact that… that I have never read a Classic before. Now,  before you start pointing fingers and attribute me guilty (which I am indeed), I’d like to state the reasons why I never read one. Here we go:

1- The word Classic itself is dreadful, don’t you think? I don’t know, but there’s a lot of pressure coming with that word.

2- I’ve never been scared of big books, as long as the story sounds appealing and not-dull, I’d read a million pages. But reading a book with, (I’m probably just guessing here, not making any assumptions), a more-intimidating-that-SAT-words vocabulary just traumatizes me instantly.

scared

3- I always think they’re overrated and am worried that they’ll not reach my assumptions. In other words, I’m concerned that they’ll be less fascinating and worth-it than what I formerly expected.

4- THE FREAKING DAUNTING VOCABULARY PRESENT IN THOSE BOOKS. English isn’t my first language, but that has never been a burden or a struggle for me when reading the books I usually read, whose genres mainly consist of Young Adult, New Adult, Fantasy, Contemporary, Romance, Sci Fi, Dystopia. And whose genre do not consist of Non fiction, Historical Fiction…

5-The main reason why I probably don’t like reading classics is the fact that the stories are usually set in the 90’s and earlier, something I don’t feel very ecstatic reading about.

giphy (1)

But I would honestly love it if someone would recommend a really good classic which they’d think would probably change my mind towards Classics in general.

Recommend me your favorites in the comment section below. Or just tell me what you think about my painful confession 😉

Have a good day Xx ❤

9 thoughts on “A Painful Confession

  1. agnesmack says:

    The Grapes of Wrath is my favorite book of all time and is considered a classic. It’s not a difficult book to read, language-wise, but it is pretty depressing. Other classics I love and would recommend: 1984; Brave New World; The Old Man and the Sea.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jocelyn @ 52Letters says:

    I totally get this! Most of the classics I’ve read have been for school. I’ve enjoyed some of them, felt very “meh” about a lot of them, and HATED a few of them. English is my first language, so the vocabulary isn’t too daunting, but it still isn’t *fun* to read.” I 100% agree that more modern YA books have an indescribable excitement that classics lack.
    If you really want to read a classic, I really enjoyed both Jane Eyre and The Picture of Dorian Gray. And while I didn’t like them as much, The Great Gatsby and Fahrenheit 451 are shorter classics with interesting messages.
    Great post!

    Like

    • painfullyfictional says:

      Oh God. You’re so lucky to have read classics in school, something we don’t do at ours. I had to buy various kinds of books to find my favorite genre(s) on my own, which was exhausting. I’ll definitely add the books you suggested to my TBR list. I’ve heard a lot of good stuff on Jane Eyre and The Great Gatsby. I really appreciate your recommendations!! Thank you so much ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. bookshelved says:

    As weird as this may sound, as a book lover I too must confess I cannot truly understand a classic until I read it in a group or with a pal. This was I can maybe get an insight on anything I misunderstood or simply did not get! I would say read The Great Gatsby. Especially as the film goes so well too! Happy reading x

    Liked by 1 person

    • painfullyfictional says:

      As mean as that might sound, It’s nice to know there are readers out there who have the same problem as mine 😂😂 Knowing that there’s a movie can be a great motivation for me, actually. The Great Gatsby is moving to the top of my TBR list 😉 Thank you ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

