Living With Regret Book Review

Book review(

[I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review]

First off I thought the novel was pretty good. I thought the plotline had a lot of potential. As I previously said, this is the kind of book I would have loved to write. But I think that the writer sort of took it for granted. The writing style was absolutely horrendous. I didn’t get why Jordan and Chase’s relationship was that special back in high school. I mean, the writer didn’t talk about anything other than Chase pining for Jordan. And I didn’t like the fact that he sort of fell in love with her the moment he laid eyes on her. And it’s not because I’m sort of against love at first sight; that’s not the case at all. I’ve actually read a lot of books that had ‘insta-love’ and I didn’t seem to mind that. The the biggest flaw I found while reading this book was the fact that Jordan and Chase didn’t really have chemistry, which is just downright horrible when it comes to storytelling. Especially when it’s a romance novel. The only things Jordan and Chase actually talked about was how screwed up they were After High School, and their conversations were mostly pretty serious, which isn’t really a good thing in a contemporary novel. And usually when the seriousness subsides, the writer just says something along the lines of; ” we talked about silly things” or “we joked about this and that”, but we never get to see what they actually talked about. Couples usually have their inside jokes and I love that part of the relationship, but we didn’t get really see that side of Jordan and Chase, you know? And to be honest I wasn’t Chase’s biggest fan. His dad’s “dictatorship” wasn’t really an excuse to the choices he made concerning Jordan. After all, he has just finished high school and was 18, and I think it was sort of essential that he made his own decisions. Living behind his dad’s shadow wasn’t really an excuse, and letting his father make his choices concerning his love life was a really cowardice thing to do. And then the fact that he dumped Jordan multiple times after his recovery was just horrible. And doing so to “protect” her wasn’t an excuse at all, I just thought it was stupid. Maybe this would’ve made a lot of girls (fictional or just readers) swoon, but it just didn’t do it for me.

2


28532703


Synopsis

Sometimes the simplest choice has the power to change your life.

Chase

Ten years ago, I turned a hard decision into a simple one. I allowed others to decide my future . . . then I lost the best thing that ever happened to me. I let go of the girl I loved in exchange for a life I was told I wanted.

Then one day I woke up with no recollection of my reality and instead I believed my life had turned out how I had once dared to imagine. Now everyone is waiting for me to remember the day I ruined my future as I struggle to recall a life without the person I so carelessly tossed away.

Somehow, I was gifted a second chance with the woman I love, and I’m going to fight like hell to keep her.

Jordan

Your brain has a funny way of convincing you what is real and what is not; even if your heart never lets you forget the truth. After Chase Adams broke my heart, my life moved forward, even though the light I once felt had extinguished. Then I received an unexpected phone call that changed everything.

Every day we make choices, but most of the time they don’t affect the rest of our lives. I wanted to love again. I wanted to trust the gift I was given, but every choice has consequences. Now I have to decide to let go of the past for the sake of my future. . . or risk living with regret.

Leave a Reply

