What Are ARCs & How Do You Receive Them?

UntitledFor many bookish people (including myself), receiving an ARC can be quite a humbling experience . But probably some of you haven’t grasped the concept of an ARC yet. I had personally come across this acronym a lot during my early blogging period, but didn’t understand what it meant until a couple of months ago.

what does arc

If you google exactly that, you’ll find results concerning arcs, you know; the ones we learned about in geometry? But because reading has become so underrated nowadays, bookish acronyms aren’t that clearly justified. Which is the point of this post.

A: Advanced

R: Reader’s

C: Copy

how to

Although a lot of people would tell you that receiving ARCs requires you having a lot of followers and email subscribers, that’s not completely true. Seeing that I live in a crappy country that no one’s ever heard of, I use Netgalley to request ARCs. What does me having to live in a crappy country have anything to do with requesting ARCs from Netgalley you’d ask? Well, if you’re a committed Netgalley user, you’d notice that requesting some books necessitates you living in a certain country. The countries are usually; USA, UK, Canada, and Australia. For some reason, popular publishers such as Penguin, Simon & Schuster and many others we usually purchase books from, demand that the requester lives in the countries that I’ve previously listed. Other publishers, though, that are a bit less popular, don’t mind that at all. When requesting an ARC, you should know that  the publisher will definitely take into consideration your activity on your Blog and on Goodreads. Not to mention, your interests and the kind of books you usually read. Needless to say, books issued from unpopular publishers aren’t necessarily unpleasant. It’s completely the opposite, actually. Books issued from unpopular publishers mean that the author has a certain budget, and publishing books through popular publishers can be pretty expensive. I personally believe that reviewing those unpopular books written by new authors can be a lot more helpful (to the author) than reviewing a new book by Colleen Hoover, or JK Rowling for example, authors whose new books don’t really need promoting.

P.S. Netgalley deals with digital ARCs, if you want a physical copy of a certain book, you should contact the publisher through email. And getting physical copies can be a bit more challenging that getting digital ones. 

8 thoughts on “What Are ARCs & How Do You Receive Them?

    • painfullyfictional says:

      I think there’s a huge difference. Being a beta reader allows you to edit the story I believe..? (I’m not very familiar with the rules of being a Beta Reader, but I’m just assuming that’s the case?) While reading an ARC only allows you to just write your thoughts about the book (reviewing it). So beta reading happens before ARC reading. And no matter how much you critisize the ARC, there’s no chance of changing what’s written in the book 😉 I hope this helps Xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • judiththereader says:

        Actually, your description of an ARC reader matches what I do as a Beta reader. I can offer feedback and share my opinions but I don’t have any editing “privileges”. Of course, if I spot typos then that’s most likely going to get changed. I know there are Alpha readers which get to read and give feedback on the pure manuscript. I am not an Alpha reader however, so I only get to read a book in its published form/finished form just a few days before its release. 😊 xx

        Liked by 1 person

          • judiththereader says:

            It’s actually the other way round really. I’m part of a team called Rosie’s Book Review Team, which is a team of book reviewers. Authors approach the team wth their books and we get to choose which ones we’d each like to read. Also, new authors may advertise on their blog for a tester reader / Beta reader, and I’m all too happy to offer myself. Also, sometimes authors may specifically approach me via email, asking me to review their work. All the books are e-books because these are easiest to send across the world! Hope this is helpful x

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

