A Thousand Tomorrows Book Review

Book review(

Warning: Proceed with caution, I’m suffering from a tremendous book hangover at the moment. Yes, I finished this in a day. And surprisingly; No, I don’t regret it. This book made me believe that eyes were made for a sole reason: Sobbing. And no, I don’t mean casual sobbing, I mean sobbing-your-eyes-out-until-your-eyelids-are-swollen-PURPLE kind of sobbing.
I don’t understand why or how I bought this book. It was released eleven years ago, it was set in the 90’s, it’s old-fashioned, categorized as “Christian Fiction” (I’m not even Christian), and it’s written in 3rd person (which isn’t actually an issue, but i usually prefer 1st person). But Oh My God, I’ll be damned if I said this didn’t hit me, hard.
And the “Christian Fiction” part? I think I understand why it’s categorized as such;
In contemporary novels, the main characters (aka lovers) are usually all over each other from the first page, mind you. And I love how the writer here was so respectable of Cody and Ali’s make out scenes that stop being described when stuff get ‘steamy’. And I’m not saying that ‘steamy’ is bad or not favored (I mean, who doesn’t love ‘steamy’ from time to time ;)?), I’m just saying that she sort of gave the couple ‘privacy’. And let me tell you, this made their relationship so pure and chaste and sacred. Now, back to the novel.

Flesh had failed Ali Daniels. But love never did; it never would. No matter how far the years took him from Ali’s life, her love would live on.
Because it lived on in him.

I don’t understand how such simple vocabulary can set up such an epic novel. It was inspiring; how the author wrote this. And I’m sure it was far from being easy. And I’m also certain that this is the proficient way of storytelling. Karen Kingsbury is definitely an author you should look out for. And she’s someone I should probably thank; I stumbled upon this book by utter chance, and I’m grateful I did, for I would have never picked up a book of this genre.
I have never read much about familial love as much as I did here. The sacrifices, the love, the nurture, they were all extraordinary. In all the previous books I’ve read, the protagonist usually waits, in anticipation, to turn eighteen so they could run away from their parents, they usually show us how annoying their mother is, or how drunk their father is. This book had such a great impact on me, one I can’t begin to describe.

5


1488175


Synopsis

In this mass market edition, #1 bestselling author Karen Kingsbury weaves a powerful story of a young couple whose love must face the ultimate challenge.

Cody Gunner has no use for real love. Abandoned as a child by the person he needed the most, he swears he will never allow himself to love again. Ali Daniels denies love as well. Carrying a terrible secret, she lives life to the fullest, taking risks and refusing relationships. When Cody and Ali meet, their first instincts are to hide behind their emotional walls, seemingly doomed to repeat the patterns they have established for most of their lives. But their attraction is too strong, and soon they’re doomed in another way, for neither can avoid falling in love, regardless of the consequences. Only after three years–a thousand tomorrows later–do they realize at what cost their relationship comes. In the end, they must decide if love is worth the ultimate price.

One thought on “A Thousand Tomorrows Book Review

Leave a Reply

