Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs Book Review

Book review(

Let me just say, this book was nothing like I’d expected.
I bought the boxed set last year, and since then I’ve probably picked up this book half a dozen times, read the synopsis, stared at the cover, and then put it back on the shelf. This time though, with the movie release date approaching, I willed myself to dive into this book head-first. And boy, did I enjoy it. Although the genre is nothing like the ones I usually favor -historical fiction and horror stories are genres I deeply loathe- this book changed all my intolerable thoughts towards those genres.
Ransom mixed fantasy, adventure, horror, history, time-traveling, and mystery all into one unique novel. And I was intrigued. That’s how fantasy novels should be written, and the reading experience I underwent is the kind of experience every single reader should go through at least once in their lives. Feeling like you’re a part of the world you’re reading about isn’t something you experience during every book you read. But when you do get this feeling, there’s only one thing you can do, embrace it, and enjoy it while you still can.

 

5


9460487


Synopsis

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

 

3 thoughts on “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs Book Review

  1. TheAliceFan says:

    I am currently saving up for a lot of books, including this lovely series! I have watched the movie, but that only makes me want to read the books more 😀

    Yes, I do believe that when you are feeling as though you are absorbed into the world within the pages, cherishing it and enjoying it is the only thing one can do (and one certainly will!)

    Great review! Makes want to propel this books up in my TBR list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

