It Ends With Us Book Review

Book review(Read on August 20th

If you’re a Colleen Hoover fan, you’d instantly understand the phrase; Every single Colleen Hoover book is even better than the previous one. I don’t really understand how that’s even possible. And I’ve literally given up on trying to make sense of this… Whatever the hell this is. And if you’ve been sticking around for a while now, you’d probably know by now how much I worship this phenomenal author. So let’s dig into her latest book.

This is the most emotional I’ve been after reading a contemporary since…. Well, since Ugly Love. I have never been this torn between loving a character and hating them (since it last happened with Warner from the Shatter Me series). Let’s start with Ryle first:

An Intelligent boyfriend? Check. Gorgeous? Check. Neurosurgeon? Check. Killer smile? Check. SCRUBS? HOLY HELL. CHECK, CHECK, CHECK.

giphy

I have fallen in love with Ryle from the very first page in which he was mentioned, mind you. And don’t get me started on this neurosurgeon shit. And the scrubs? The second they were mentioned, I was already a goner.

!!! SPOILERS !!!

Leave it to Colleen to mess your head up and tie your brains to knots, and make you hot and swoony for a guy you shouldn’t even fall for. So basically, leave it to Colleen to start wars between your heart and brain. I honestly, did not expect the kitchen scene, the one where Ryle loses his shit and goes all berserker on Lily. I was shocked. It was so unexpected, aka so Colleen Hoover-y. And like Lily, I was trying so hard to come up with excuses for the way he was acting throughout the book. But then when things progressed and Atlas moved into the picture, I started to get really annoyed with Lily. I know, the whole point of the book is to justify why it isn’t as easy to just end a relationship that includes abuse. And I swear, I fell in love with Ryle. And it was sort of hard to blame him for his actions because of what happened in his past. His actions aren’t just driven by his anger or whatever else causes the need for abuse, but a dark past he can’t escape, something he did that he wasn’t aware of. And it was awful. It was awful, and confusing, and heartbreaking. I wanted to comfort him; who deserves such a wretched life? Where you’re obliged to pay for a mistake- if it’s even called so- made by your 6 (was he six then?) year old self, for your whole life.

Not to forget the fact that Lily’s own father was abusive. And where she pledged to never accept a man like her father, she realizes that she has already fallen head-over-heels for one.

The scene after she gives birth and looks down at Emmy; when she asks Ryle for divorce, but he begs her for one more chance and then she tells him exactly this:

What would you do? If one of these days, this little girl looked up at you and she said. “Daddy? My boyfriend hit me.”

What would you say to her,  Ryle?

What if she came to you and said, “Daddy? My husband pushed me down the stairs. He said it was an accident. What should I do?”

This. This is exactly where I lost the last piece of sanity that was still left in me. If you didn’t sob your eyeballs out during this scene, if it didn’t hit you somewhere, anywhere at all, then I don’t even know what the point was in trying to read this book. It felt like everything that happened in the novel was leading up to this very scene.

And I marveled at how strong-willed Lily was to break the circle- that started with her parents and then led to her relationship with Ryle. I loved how she didn’t want this to go on, to move to on her daughter:

“It ends with us.”

Because I believe if it weren’t for her daughter, she would’ve probably given Ryle a couple more chances.

Atlas.

Oh my God. Can we start with the name? Because I have a huge crush on it.

You know what? The thing about the love interests of Colleen’s characters is that they’re all quiet and gentle. It’s like Colleen’s trademark. And I just figured out how much of a turn on it is. Atlas is so understated and humble and gentle and HOLY HELL. And when he said this, I was swooning and sobbing and I had all sorts of feels:

He pulls back to look down at me and when he sees my tears, he brings his hands up to my cheeks. “In the future… if by some miracle you ever find yourself in the position to fall in love again… fall in love with me.”

Anyways… This book had me on a roller coaster of feels, much like every other Colleen Hoover book. But the fact that this was inspired by her own experience of her parents’ relationship made it that much heartbreaking and stirring. I honestly spent a lot of time worrying about what’s going to happen to Ryle afterwards. And of course, seeing how Lily made things work out with Atlas was like the perfect ending for the story.

And I’ve been dying to say this:

Lily and Ryle’s theme song: I Hate U I Love U by Gnash

Atlas and Lily’s theme song: Say You Won’t Let Go by James Arthur

😂😂😂


5


27362503


Synopsis

SOMETIMES THE ONE WHO LOVES YOU IS THE ONE WHO HURTS YOU THE MOST

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.


Let me know if you’ve read the book and what you think about how everything ended, in comments’ section below, and if you haven’t read it yet I strongly recommend you to do just that.

Happy Reading Xx

One thought on “It Ends With Us Book Review

Leave a Reply

