Cress Book Review

Book review(While reading this book, I was still making up my mind on who my favorite character in this series was. When I finished reading it, I was sure; Thorne. Captain Thorne.

carswell_thorne_by_schemingface-dadx84m

Cress was such a hilarious book. I laughed so hard. My favorite couple was definitely Cress and Thorne. Cresswell, is it? 😉 I love a complicated relationship, as long as it isn’t a dramatic one. And Cress and Thorne’s was just too adorable and amusing to handle. Their scenes were the best. I loved how Cress was all over Thorne, and how Thorne was just keeping it cool and guarded. cress_and_thorne_by_taratjah-d9gtbj1

!!! SPOILERS !!!

Although I was scared out of my mind when Thorne went blind, I cannot apologize for how much this incident enhanced the story and his relationship with Cress. The fact that he fell in love with her without really seeing her (other than a few times through the COMM and when he entered the satellite) hit me so hard. tumblr_nral7aqnyz1uaezmwo1_1280And I know how hard and challenginng that was for Thorne; he’s used to getting whatever and whoever he wants, he’s used to having girls swooning over him and whatnot. And the fact that he fell in love with Cress, not because of her looks but because of who she is as a person, was so heart-warming. And I laughed so hard when they got to Earth and Thorne asked Cress to describe what she saw and she was all like:

Cress: “It’s beautiful out there.”

Thorne: “Could you be more specific?”

Cress: “The sky is this gorgeous, intense blue color.”

Thorne: “Oh, good. You’ve really narrowed it down for me.”

And I honestly never thought that being stuck in the Sahara with nothing to drink or eat is hot and romantic until after I read this book.

Cress: “Captain, I think I’m in love with you.”

Thorne: “Don’t tell me it took you two whole days to realize that. I must be losing my touch.”

tumblr_nh03p1jgac1qzb19eo1_r1_500

Cress’s unhealthy obsession with Thorne

Because the previous one just wasn’t enough;

Cress: “Do you think you could ever love me back?”

Thorne: “Cress, this is sweet, but aren’t I the first guy you’ve ever met?”

This is, hands-down, one of the most comical books I’ve read.

Now back to the whole squad and to what caused this tragic series of events.

When are the Earthen and Wolf-mutated squad members going to realize that helping Cinder when she’s around Lunars is actually KILLING her instead?

I mean, they’ve been manipulated before, why the hell did Wolf go inside the podships-packed section of the Rampion to help Cinder when HE KNEW THAT SYBIL COULD MANIPULATE HIM INTO HURTING HIMSELF AND EVERYONE ELSE??!

I was so irritated when that happened, which was more than once. But all in all, this was one of the most thrilling and ecstatic reads I’ve ever come across. Well done, Meyer.

5

13206828


Synopsis

In this third book in Marissa Meyer’s bestselling Lunar Chronicles series, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and prevent her army from invading Earth.

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl trapped on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s being forced to work for Queen Levana, and she’s just received orders to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is splintered. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a higher price than she’d ever expected. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai, especially the cyborg mechanic. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

One thought on “Cress Book Review

Leave a Reply

