The Sun Is Also A Star By Nicola Yoon

Book review(

After reading Yoon’s first novel Everything, Everything, I was ecstatic over this one. I had it on my Goodreads anticipated-releases bookshelf. And somehow, my best friend got me the book as a belated birthday gift before the official release date, claiming that she just found it at the bookstore and remembered that she saw it on my TBR. But who’s complaining, right?? So anyways, I dove into this book head-first and finished it in one sitting. I won’t lie, I was incredibly terrified it was on of those insta-love stories, if you know what I mean. The synopsis definitely makes you think that.

“Two strangers fall in love within 12 hours? Oh damn, it’s one of those. ”

But it’s not. It was such a beautiful book, that includes matters that other YA novels lack. The fact that each of Natasha and Daniel come from different backgrounds and each of them has their utterly distinct beliefs, was an exciting element to add to their story. While Natasha only believe in facts and science and is this “pessimistic, so realistic” kind of girl, Daniel is the complete opposite; he writes poetry as one would breathe read (see what I did there?), and likes to believe in happily ever after’s and meant to be’s. Which was so thrilling to see because we’re used to having it the other way; where the girl is the hopeless romantic and the guy is the nerd.

Daniel: “We have big, beautiful brains. We invent things that fly. Fly. We write poetry. You probably hate poetry, but it’s hard to argue with ‘Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day? Thou art more lovely and more temperate’ in terms of sheer beauty. We are capable of big lives. A big history. Why settle? Why choose the practical thing, the mundane thing? We are born to dream and make the things we dream about.”

This was intense.

And the fact that she’s Jamaican and he’s Korean… I loved it. Yes, I hated on both their parents for the racism and the unfairness of it, but it only made the story that much better. The writing style was captivating;

Does he really need me to tell him that all the seconds matter? That our own universe exploded into existence in the space of a breath?

And after Natasha meets Daniel’s father, who is this racist asshole by the way, he tells her this:

Daniel: “I’m sorry about everything, about the whole history of the world and all its racism and the unfairness of all of it.”

….

Natasha: “You’re not your dad,” I say, but he doesn’t believe me. I understand his fear. Who are we if not a product of our parents and their histories?

OH MY GOD. THE FRONT COVER LOOKS PERFECT WITH THE POPSICLES. WHATEVEN.

5

28763485


Synopsis

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

 

One thought on “The Sun Is Also A Star By Nicola Yoon

Leave a Reply

