Playbook – A Love Story Book Review

Book review(

[I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review]

This book was definitely not what I was initially expecting.

I knew it was an adult fiction book, but I was surprised at how much I related to the main character who is, in fact, 15 years older than me. But if I’d want to picture myself 15 years from now, I would be an exact version of Anna.

I admired her character; her passion for her job. For books. For Will. It was equally amazing and inspiring. I loved her acceptance for the life she had at 32; books, a perfect job as an English Professor, more books, that’s the ideal life. But I know how it feels like to meet someone who would make the life that seemed enough a couple of days ago, not so enough without them present in it. (Actually I don’t know that from personal experiences, just from bookish ones; more things to support how similar my life is to Anna’s).

Dane.

I don’t know what to say about Dane. I love the enemies-to-friends-to-lovers stories. Scratch that. I adore them. And I believe in all the “opposites attract” crap. I do. Their relationship was hilarious and sweet and beautiful all at the same time. And I love how Trey brought Anna and Dane  together without even meaning to. I like to believe these sort of coincidences happen. This is such a realistic story and I loved the whole concept and the Shakespearean quotes and themes.

I thought there were some insignificant details that could’ve been sacrificed for the sake of obtaining a faster-paced story, but even that wasn’t enough to make me feel less smitten by this novel and its characters.

4

32739702


Expected publication: January 24th 2017

Synopsis

Anna Jeffries has spent the last thirty-two years blending in, content in her worn-out reading chair—her happy corner of the world—spinning romantic scenarios she’s certain reality can’t deliver. After three years of teaching Shakespeare at UC Berkeley, Anna is working toward full tenure. Her life in the classroom means everything and she can’t imagine wanting more… until she does.

Dane Sivac is in his second year as the wide receiver coach, and with new talent on the team this year, he’s beginning to think his future may hold a permanent position with Cal—as permanent as any coach can hope for. When his star receiver begins struggling on and off the field, the sports psychologist asks Dane for help. For Dane, emotions are best ignored, but his player’s seemingly uptight Shakespeare professor is driving Dane nuts… until she’s not.

Invested in the future of a student athlete they’ve both come to care about, Dane and Anna are forced to work together. The attraction is undeniable, but opposing teams rarely get along. Right as Dane makes the type of romantic gesture Anna has only known in fiction, her career is threatened and she is reminded, playbook or not, she was never good at games.

2 thoughts on “Playbook – A Love Story Book Review

Leave a Reply

