Winter Book Review

Book review(Read from November 05 to 11, 2016

PS: It’s been a while since I’ve read this book. The feels aren’t as intense as they should be.

I can’t imagine for one second having enough words in the dictionary to describe how I feel towards Winter. The Lunar Chronicles series is a work of art. And let’s face it, final books in series tend to carry a lot of pressure; it changes your whole point of view towards the series.It takes skill to write a final book that would satisfy the different categories of readers. Winter? Nailed it.

tumblr_m89p3n9OXu1rbzgsro2_1280

I have never come across a series that joins all sorts of components in one book; romance ( the swoon-worthy kind), humor (lots of that, by the way), action (done by badass female leads, mind you), and thriller (that keeps you on the edge of your damn seat).

My favorite ingredient of all? Definitely the badass female leads. I love how each book is a retelling of a fairy-tale. But the princesses aren’t those damsels in distress waiting for their knight in shining armor. Nope, none of that. Welcome to the Lunar Chronicles, where females rule the world; they start revolutions; they end wars; they save their knights. I love the feminist-vibe around here.

Now, I don’t want to dive too deep into the series; it’d be impossible to surface. So I’m going to just say what’s on my mind, briefly.

Alright. Choosing an/a OTP or a favorite ship is impossible here. But if you’ve seen my Cress Book Review you’d know how much I worship Thorne. So if I were to choose an OTP it would be Thorne and I. I’m sorry.

530158

Me when Thorne utters a word

I can’t lie, I’ve felt something close to sympathy towards Queen Levana at some point. But that was over before it has even begun.

I love the childhood best friends thing going on between Jacin and Winter, I’m a sucker for those kind of stories. And I absolutely loved the way he felt the need to protect her even when it meant losing his own life in the process. Hashtag GOALS.

I’ve talked about the other characters in my previous book reviews, so I won’t be discussing any of them in here:

Cinder Book Review

Scarlet Book Review

Cress Book Review

60952423f7385a74c20c1a78b3507632

Thorne & Cress

I’m going to miss this series so damn much. The one thing I’ll be missing the most is definitely Cinder & Thorne’s silly but always hilarious bickering and arguments.

5


13206900


Synopsis

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend–the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters? Fans will not want to miss this thrilling conclusion to Marissa Meyer’s national bestselling Lunar Chronicles series.

10 thoughts on “Winter Book Review

  1. Brandilyn Gilbert says:

    You know, people have been trying to get me to read the Lunar Chronicles for forever and a day and the premise never really appealed to me. But this review makes me feel like I’ve got to give it a try! Anytime there is this much fangirl squeeing and adorable fan art, I’ve got to take a look!! Thank you for your review!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nadwa @ painfullyfictional says:

      Wow! If you need motivation in order to give this series a shot, I’d be more than glad to help 😂 Here’s the thing, just give the first page of Cinder a shot, and I promise you’ll be hooked! Like, it’s totally addictive. I don’t think there’s anyone out there who DOESN’T like the series 😂

      Like

      • Brandilyn Gilbert says:

        That’s what I’ve seen–that nobody has been like, “Uh, guys, it’s Cinderella as a cyborg. What are you thinking?” It’s all love and confetti, so I’m going to have to give it a shot. I’m all for love and confetti. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

