Heartless Book Review

book-review

Meyer makes me love the retelling more than the original story. I would never expect anything less than perfect from her, and this book-although approached with wariness- proved my previous thoughts; flawless writing and storytelling is what portrays her.
This is probably the first book with an obvious, constant ending. The Queen Of Hearts is a villain; there’s no changing that. One thing about retellings; you can change the plot and the names and the scenarios but changing the ending is impractical, impossible.
But did that diminish my admiration and awe throughout the book? Hell no.
I loved the evolution and development of Catherine’s character, her dreams and visions of what she wanted to become. I admired every single decision and move she made.

The romance was just swoon-worthy and heart-warming and heart-shattering. And I absolutely love the feeling I get when everything adds up and I predict (correctly, I must add) what’s going to happen next. It’s like this super 6th sense. AND WHEN YOU FINALLY UNDERSTAND THE TITLE; LIKE, WHATEVEN!!!
Another Marissa Meyer book that swept me off my feet. I recommend anyone and everyone to read this.

spoilers
[But, I was literally fuming during the part in which she decided to go save Marie Ann. AND WHY THE HELL DIDN’T SHE STOP PETER BEFORE HE SWUNG THAT AX IF SHE’D ALREADY KNOWN WHAT WAS GOING TO HAPPEN?! This is something Meyer has done in Winter, when Cinder decides to “forgive” Levana only to prove to her that she is a fated villain after all. Meyer likes to give this “stupidly heroic” feature to some of her protagonists. I’m not complaining; it makes a good plot. But it’s sometimes pretty annoying (I’m complaining, I know)]

5


18584855


synopsis

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries. But for her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for a woman who could be a queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the King’s marriage proposal, she meets handsome and mysterious Jest. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into a secret courtship.

Cath is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

5 thoughts on “Heartless Book Review

  1. Mandy says:

    Woah. I never thought about the ax thing. That was extremely stupid, and it totally could have been prevented. But…I do agree about the stupid thing, since she has done it before. Great review, though!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

