A Court Of Mist And Fury Book Review

book-reviewI have been talking myself out of writing this review because I was a hundred percent sure it’s going to be totally unprofessional and replete with fangirling and cursing. But then again, I wasn’t convinced that time would diminish that, so I decided I might as well do this right now. While the feels are still fresh.giphy-8
I will admit that Feyre’s dark aura and attitude at the beginning of the novel affected my reading experience; I wouldn’t go too far to say that it made me detest the book, but I did find it a little hard to read at first. But then her character began to take shape, not the vulnerable human anymore; but an immortal maintaining the power of the seven High Lords. And if you’ve been around for a while, and have read some of my book reviews, you’d know how much of a sucker I am for a well-woven character transformation.
Can we just take a minute and appreciate the crew though?
Of course, in ACOTAR, I’d known there was more to Rhysand than just him being an arrogant, egotistic, narcissist (you get the point). But honestly, I’m not the kind of person that ruins her whole reading (and shipping) experience just because I’m feeling paranoid about a furtive and mysterious character (aka Rhysand). So yes, I shipped Feyre and Tamlin in ACOTAR.
But obviously, I wasn’t that naive as to judge Rhysand based on prejudice, I’ve read Shatter Me, and well, I learned my lesson throughout the series, so no, the turn of events in this one wasn’t surprising (I don’t suppose anyone should be surprised at all, anyway). But I was definitely awe-struck after getting acquainted with Rhysand’s inner circle and their backgrounds and their tragic stories. My heart swelled at the way they held each other and found safety and wellbeing in each other’s company. And it was such a gorgeous reflection of family and friendship and love that it nearly took my breath away.tumblr_ofd79daakm1qzulc1o1_500 And I kept thinking how someone once told me that friends are more significant than family; since unlike your family, friends are of your choice. And although I don’t particularly agree with that, I saw how it was absolutely true in Rhysand’s case… and Mor’s..
I was stunned by Rhysand’s gentleness and selflessness and VELARIS. One of the many many reasons I want a book-to-movie adaptation is that I want to see the City Of Starlight (and The Night Court…and all the other courts) on screen. Because all the fantasizing I’ve done about that city simply isn’t enough to lessen my fascination. If I were to live in any fictional world, I’d choose Velaris with a heartbeat.
Can we take a second to appreciate the whole squad together? I loved how easy it was for Feyre to fit in the crew. I loved the chemistry between everyone; their taunting and teasing and all that. I loved it.
I don’t know where to start on Feysand… Just wanted to point out a couple of stuff that drove me insane (I’m going to be a hopeless romantic and I don’t even give a shit):
-Remember how Rhysand said that he’d bow before no one and nothing but his crown? Remember how he knelt before Feyre…?
-I loved how he gave her the choice of going to Hybern at the end and told her that she’s her own person and that she’s to choose her own fate. How he respected her.

feyre-fanart

And I realized how badly I’d been treated before, if my standards had become so low. If the freedom I’d been granted felt like a privilege and not an inherent right.

I had very very high expectations for this book. And I’m going to admit that I found they were low for what I felt at the end. This was epic. It was amazing. Words cannot describe how I feel about this series right now. I wanted ACOMAF to last forever. And I’m honestly dreading the third book.
I already miss it.
Re-reading the first two books will be inevitable.d25c0db1fd09cac34501ed1ea5d1c142

To the stars who listen.
And the dreams that are answered.

(I do  not own any of the fanart)

5

17927395


synopsis

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

8 thoughts on “A Court Of Mist And Fury Book Review

  1. Mandy says:

    I just got the first book of this, so I was trying to read your review but also not because spoilers. I’m so happy though that you fangirled over it because that means I most likely will too so I’m super pumped to read it now. Great review…from the little parts that I read that wouldn’t spoil myself. XD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

