The Echoes of Love by Hannah Fielding Book Review

book-review4.5 out of 5 stars
This was so damn good! I don’t know where to start; I guess I should get used to the way Mrs Fielding’s books render me speechless.
Venice
I’m going to say this with 100% certainty: I have never read any book that appreciates and values a scenery, city or a painting as much as this one -and Legacy. The simplest fixation was acknowledged, in a breathtakingly raw and stunning way. And I was lucky to have watched the movie Under The Tuscan Sky a couple of days ago. So that on top of the very detailed description of the city made me feel as though I was part of the story. The description of the Miraggio and La Serina and the Tuscan countryside was just too good, too tempting.
I need to talk about the romance because I’m getting the vibe that Fielding’s novels are all going to make me swoon. The best factor is the chemistry between the characters; something that a lot of books lack.
I don’t want to go into the specifics or else I’m going to spoil the whole book. Here comes the spoilery section:
spoilers Why was the rating short of half a star, you’d ask?
Well, I sort of already knew that Paolo was Judd and I felt like that was something that should’ve been kept as a surprise for the end! First off, Venetia bumps into this gorgeous blue-eyed man.. Okay. There’s this devastatingly beautiful static energy between the couple that literally brought me to my knees… Alright. Then a touch leads to a kiss that leads to WHATEVER and then every single time, Judd pops into Venetia’s head which I thought was coincidental at first But then that was starting to turn into a pattern. Venetia feeling the familiarity of her lover’s touch and all that. Of course, at first I convinced myself otherwise: If Paolo really was Judd, how could she not remember how her first love looked like? Even after 10 years, shouldn’t his eyes remain the same? His voice? It was all very confusing, until Venetia went back to see that Chineseman that told her ‘all becoming is circular’. Then I put two and two together and was almost 90% sure that Paolo is, in fact, Judd. I’m not usually this psycho-investigator kinda person, I was actually losing my mind when I realized all my predictions were, indeed, true. Still, I didn’t know the whole story about Paolo’s mission and all that, which completely blew me away.
Finally, I loved the fact that both Venetia and Paolo felt as though each of them wasn’t worthy of the other, how both had a guilty conscience over a situation neither of them could control. And I adored Venetia’s strong and responsible exchange with her father at the end, and how she (sort of) forgave him. Again, this was such a spectacular read.

4

18816562


synopsisSet against the breathtaking beauty of Italy, The Echoes of Love is a passionate, heart-breaking romance to ignite the senses and rekindle your belief in the power of love. Seduction, passion and secrets… Venetia Aston-Montagu has escaped to Venice to work in her godmother’s architectural practice, putting a lost love behind her. For the past ten years she has built a fortress around her heart, only to find the walls tumbling down one night of the carnival when she is rescued from masked assailants by an enigmatic stranger, Paolo Barone. Drawn to the powerfully seductive Paolo, despite warnings of his Don Juan reputation and rumours that he keeps a mistress, Venetia can’t help being caught up in the smouldering passion that ignites between them. When she finds herself assigned to a project at his magnificent home deep in the Tuscan countryside, Venetia not only faces a beautiful young rival but also a sinister count and dark forces in the shadows, determined to come between them. Can Venetia trust that love will triumph, even over her own demons? Or will Paolo’s carefully guarded, devastating secret tear them apart forever?

Leave a Reply

