Six Of Crows Book Review

book-review

A CLIFFHANGER FOR GOD’S SAKE??!!! ARE YOU SERIOUS RIGHT NOW
Let me just say; this book was nothing like I expected. Gangs, thieves, gamblers… Not my thing. But boy, did I like it. The first 100-150 pages were so slow-paced, I already admitted I was planning on DNFing it. But then I was genuinely starting to root for the characters. I loved their backstories, their cultures, their races. I took me a while to understand what a Grisha was and all that but then everything clicked into place and I was overtaken by this extraordinary roller coaster of deep emotions. I loved Wylan and Jesper’s taunting and teasing and bickering (their little flirtling at the end didn’t slip past me). I previously pointed out that my main ship throughout this book was definitely Matthias and Nina (falling-in-love-with-the-enemy is my favorite cliche). Kaz’s past literally shattered my heart; I loved how his every move was fueled by his vengeance and retribution for his brother. And then Inej saying “i will have you without armor, Kaz Brekker, or I will not have you at all.” hit me so damn hard.

I LOVED EVERY SINGLE CHARACTER UNCONDITIONALLY. If I had to choose, though, my favorite would probably be Jesper. His character is so hilarious. He’s like this ADHD kid with a big heart. I loved the little bits of mottoes and slogans the Dregs had

No Funerals
No Mourners

4

23437156


synopsis

Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker has been offered wealth beyond his wildest dreams. But to claim it, he’ll have to pull off a seemingly impossible heist:

Break into the notorious Ice Court
(a military stronghold that has never been breached)

Retrieve a hostage
(who could unleash magical havoc on the world)

Survive long enough to collect his reward
(and spend it)

Kaz needs a crew desperate enough to take on this suicide mission and dangerous enough to get the job done – and he knows exactly who: six of the deadliest outcasts the city has to offer. Together, they just might be unstoppable – if they don’t kill each other first.

10 thoughts on “Six Of Crows Book Review

  1. Mandy says:

    YAYAYAYAYAY! I’m so glad you enjoyed it, Nadwa! I got scared for a second and I’m like, OMG, I made her excited for nothing. XD But I’m soooo happy you liked it!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nadwa @ painfullyfictional says:

      Nooo !! I totally did ! 😂 It was definitely very different from all the other fantasy novels I’ve read. But it was soo good! Thank you so much for recommending it for me!! 😍😍 I’ll make sure I read every single book you recommend me from now on 😂

      Like

  2. JoanaDuarte says:

    Awesome review! I really liked this book but the beginning was a bit too slow for me. Probably I wouldn’t have felt it so much if I read The Grisha trilogy first, don’t know. But other than that I loved it! And the second one is amazing too! Hope you enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nadwa @ painfullyfictional says:

      When I first started the book, I literally thought it was like a second book in a series or something, although I knew it wasn’t. Even if SOC is sort of related to the Grisha Trilogy, I thought it was essential to at least clarify a couple of things at the beginning. I found it to be a little vague. And I will definitely be reading the second book! Everyone says it’s better than the first one.

      Liked by 1 person

      • JoanaDuarte says:

        I felt the same way… I was a bit lost, than I kinda got the point but it was still missing something. Which is The Grisha Trilogy. I understand that it’s not necessary to read it before, but I believe that it helps a lot… Hope you enjoy it! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

