Before I Fall Movie Review

large (4)
I got this book on a whim 5 years ago while I was cruising the Virgin Megastore aisles. I was 12, reckless, and obviously, an inexperienced reader. That being said, I did not even read the blurb (my 12 year old self wouldn’t have even known what blurbs were). I don’t know how the prices at your local Virgin Megastore are, but they are beyond belief at mine. Definitely more than double the actual price of the book you’d find at a proper bookstore.

I’d say it was fate that brought me to this book, and what made it catch my eye. Because it was nothing more than a beautiful cover to me back then, but I’m not sure if I believe in fate.

I’ve read this book twice, I’m sure it wasn’t meant to be read by 12 year olds; but I can’t deny the fact that it still hit me hard. Then I read it probably 2 years ago; still, it had an even greater impact on me. FullSizeRender

Now, after watching the movie (which was gorgeously portrayed, by the way),  I knew for a fact that this is definitely one of the best standalones I’ve ever read. I was literally bawling (I was the only one; and the only attendants who’ve actually read the book were me and my two reader-friends) during the scene where Sam actually took the gloves from her little sister tenderly and hugged her (Sam was tearing up a little herself actually). I don’t know why that specific scene hit me hard; it just did.

large

large (3)

large (1)

What I love is the way Sam accepted her fate, and instead of grieving, decided to go ahead and fit the right pieces of the puzzle together, and redeem herself. This has always sort of strengthened my faith in a way, because it’s important to remind yourself that your life doesn’t end when you’re over a certain age; no one is spared or excused, even the richest man on Earth is going to eventually fade away and leave everything behind. Reminding yourself that death might be lurking just around the corner can actually allow you to carve yourself into the person you’d want to become. And actually considering the consequences of doing the simplest of actions like mocking a certain person or bullying them; no matter how stupid or insignificant you think it is; it might affect them strongly. This is the kind of book/movie that makes me want to become a better person.

large (5)

large (7)

I fangirled so hard at first because Sam was literally quoting the first few lines from the book (my favorite quote) during the opening credits.

“Maybe you can afford to wait. Maybe for you there’s a tomorrow. Maybe for you there’s one thousand tomorrows, or three thousand, or ten, so much time you can bathe in it, roll around it, let it slide like coins through you fingers. So much time you can waste it.
But for some of us there’s only today. And the truth is, you never really know.”

This is, hands-down, the best book-to-movie adaptation I’ve ever seen. Only some insignificant parts from the novel were excluded in the movie. But everything else was so on point and exactly how I imagined it that it was so overwhelming.

15 thoughts on “Before I Fall Movie Review

      • Bookmark Chronicles says:

        I mean, I get it and why it’s important and how she redeems herself. But reliving it a certain amount of times just for it to end the way it does is would be a little annoying. I also don’t think it should take dying for someone to want to become a better person.

        Like

        • Nadwa @ painfullyfictional says:

          No! Of course not! Sorry, I don’t think I was clear enough; my point wasn’t at all about her sacrificing her life for Juliette’s, what I meant was that every single thing she did along the journey (appreciating her mother’s love, spending time with her little sister, talking to Kent, realizing that popularity, sex, and the number of flowers received on Cupid Day, isn’t what life, or high school for that matter, is all about). What made me want to become a better person is knowing how the smallest actions Sam made affected everyone around her; the good and the bad. I’m strictly against suicide; no matter what the reason is. I’m sorry if I sounded vague.

          Like

  1. Sarah says:

    I just saw this at the theater with my friend, and we had both read the book before. You’re right, it was an amazing adaption! That quote you talk about at the end is really one of the best there is. So glad they stayed tight to the book creating the film 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Alexandra says:

    It was hard to me to all understand because I am not speaking english, but I have tried my best to read what you think about. I have just finish the movie a few minutes ago, and it was amazing. The colours were beautiful and how it was filmed impressed me. The ending scene was wonderful. We need more movies like that. I will read the book for sure ! Thanks for sharing your thoughts ! Goodbye. ♡

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

