My Favorite YA Fantasy Books/Series

my-favorite-ya-fantasy-books2fseries.png

Illustration by Koma Art

I personally think that fantasy is the most challenging genre to read. Unlike contemporary books, finding the right fantasy book and immersing yourself in the world properly requires a great deal of imagination and concentration. And if the writing isn’t that good, there’s no way I’d be able to continue on with the book. But on the other hand, I believe that fantasy is the most essential genre of all; what’s the point of reading if you don’t come across a book every now and then that takes you to worlds where faeries and monsters and unicorns exist?(the books aren’t in any specific order)


The Lunar Chronicles Series by Marissa Meyer

lunar-chronicles-by-marissa-meyer

One of my favorite series ever. I’m total Cresswell trash here.


The Firebird Series by Claudia Gray

claudia-gray

universe-traveling/physics


The Shatter Me Series by Tahereh Mafi

shatter-me-series

Amazing character development. 3 more books to come! Check out my post here


The A Court Of Thorns and Roses Series by Sarah J Maas

The_ACOTAR_series

The 3rd book’s on the way! This is my favorite fantasy series yet.


The Mara Dyer Series by Michelle Hodkin

983940_orig

It was a little creepy at first but ended up being one of the most romantic and thrilling series I’ve come across.


The Throne Of Glass Series by Sarah J Maas

ThroneofGlassSet

Currently reading the second book, but I have really high expectations for this series.


The Red Queen Series by Victoria Aveyard

redqueen

Still haven’t read the 3rd book. The first two caused me to have some pretty serious trust issues.


Heartless by Marissa Meyer

18584855

A fairytale retelling of The Queen Of Hearts that literally blew my mind.

 

38 thoughts on “My Favorite YA Fantasy Books/Series

  1. salmahsbookshelf says:

    I’ve always wanted to read the Lunar Chronicles but haven’t gotten around to it yet. I’ve heard it’s a lot like sailor moon so that interested me. I loved Shatter Me but actually never read the third book. I’m gonna refresh now that 3 more are coming

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thebookcorps says:

    I still have to read The Lunar Chronicles! I have the first book and have tried reading it so many times, but I get distracted lol! Also ACOWAR is coming out tomorrow! so excited lol
    great choices 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nadwa @ painfullyfictional says:

      Oh my God, Laura! Come on!! Alright, here’s an idea, what about a buddy-read in July? That would be after my finals. I’m planning on binge-reading the series, but if you’re up to it, I’d love to read Cinder with you. I would even find other people to tag along so you’d get motivated 😂😂 Ohh I’m super excited for ACOWAR!! 😍😍

      Liked by 1 person

        • Nadwa @ painfullyfictional says:

          All right, It’s all set then! 😍 This is going to be my first buddy-read so I’m really looking forward to it! That’s going to be over 2 months from now, so I’ll contact you later to set the date 😂💘 We can even publish a post to invite anyone who wants to read/reread the books to join!

          Liked by 1 person

          • thebookcorps says:

            My first one too!! How exciting 😀 Yes let me know when you want to do it – I’ll be done with uni in July so I’ll have plenty of time to read ❤ And yes that sounds good to invite other people !

            Liked by 1 person

  3. Bionic Book Worm says:

    Agreed. You have to be in the right mind set and have the time to dedicate to fantasy if you want to get the most out of it. I LOVE the ACOTAR and Throne of Glass series! SJM is now one of my favourite authors. The Lunar chronicles is just as amazing. I plan to start the firebird series this month or next. So excited!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nadwa @ painfullyfictional says:

      Ahh just thinking about the squad gives me ALLLL the feels. I can’t imagine what re-reading the books would make me feel. I wish I were free enough to binge read them but I’m so busy with school right now 😭 Tell Thorne I say hi, will you? And I’m utterly honored!! 😍💘

      Like

  4. readwithkatie says:

    I’ve read the first books in the Lunar Chronicles and the Firebird trilogy, I really need to continue as I loved both of them! Of course ACOTAR and ACOMAF are my all time favourites, I can’t wait for ACOWAR! I still need to read Mara Dyer, Throne of Glads and Red Queen. I read Heartless and I really liked it but the ending killed me 😫

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ashley says:

    I’ve heard a lot of great things about the Lunar Chronicles and Shatter Me, I might have to check them out at some point. I’m reading a Court of Wings and Ruin right now and am so glad I decided to give the series a second chance because book two was amazing! I’ve read four of the Throne of Glass books and even though I find them somewhat entertaining, I’ve never really been able to adore them the way a lot of other people have. The same goes for Red Queen. My sister’s a fan though! Great list.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

