My Despicable DNF List

My Despicable DNF List
Adding a book to the shameful DNF section is always my absolute final escape. I hate that list, and although it only constitutes of 6 books for now, it still feels like a burden that I’ll always be carrying with me. So here’s a list of books that, unfortunately made it to that wretched list, and earned the dishonorable DNF badge.

Moo7MaEdEJ7mo


That Summer by Sarah Dessen

104379

Well, unlike her other books which I all loved, this one just lacked… the X factor her other books had. I don’t know how to describe it, but I actually picked this up over 3 times and ended up abandoning it again.


City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1) by Cassandra Clare

256683

I had very high expectations for this book, but it felt like the world was so poorly-built (compared to the ones from the other fantasy books I’ve read), and I just couldn’t stand the protagonist.


Torment (Fallen #2)  by Lauren Kate

7740152

So I was at the annual book-fair last December, and got the WHOLE FRIGGIN SERIES, like with the prequels and novellas. I loathed the first book (see: annoying protagonist) but decided to give the sequel a shot. Apparently, it was even worse than the first one, so there’s that.


Finale (Hush, Hush #4) by Becca Fitzpatrick

12751687

I actually thought the previous books were good. I can’t remember why, exactly, I lost interest in this one…


The Eye of Minds (The Mortality Doctrine #1) by James Dashner

16279856

I was pretty excited to read another James Dashner book, but this one was just toooo geeky for me. I couldn’t with all the hacking and over-the-top futuristic technology in this book.


Every Day (Every Day #1) by David Levithan

13262783

I’ve had my eye on this book for ages. But it was too slow-paced and dark for me.


So that’s my DNF list. Have you read any of the books I mentioned? And did you like it/them? Let me know!

31 thoughts on “My Despicable DNF List

  1. thebookcorps says:

    :O You dnf’d City of Bones? That book is part of my favourite series ever! I reread the whole series last year and still loved it as much as I did when I was a teenager, but I guess Clare isn’t for everyone lol.
    So far, I’ve only dnf’d 2 books: The Magicians by Lev Grossman and Duels and Deception by Cindy Anstey.
    This is a cool idea though, and I love your graphic at the beginning, it’s gorgeous!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nadwa @ painfullyfictional says:

      Well, I might give those two books another shot, then 😄 Honestly? One of the reasons I published this post is to have someone try to change my mind about those books I mentioned. And hey, if the Shadowhunters series and Eye of Minds get better after the first books, then I’ll definitely consider reading them again!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jessica M Tuckerman, MA says:

    OMG Mortal Instruments. I tried. I really tried. I picked up City of Bones several times and I just could NOT get into it. I’ve never made it that far into either. I wanted to read it because I think we often ridicule books we don’t read based on what we see happen with the fandom, and I wanted to know why it was so popular. Especially now that I’m getting my MFA I want to look at popular books and see what they’re doing. But I can’t stand Clary. And I hate the opening head hopping. And the language just feels like it’s written AT teens and not FOR teens.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nadwa @ painfullyfictional says:

      YES EXACTLY!! Probably the only reason I picked up the book was to find out why it was getting all that hype. The things I can’t stand in a fantasy book are when the protagonist is annoying or when the world is poorly built. So I just couldn’t continue reading that book, the writing, the world, the characters… Nothing was noteworthy, you know?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Summer @ Xingsings says:

    I read City of Bones when I was a young teenager and loved it, but somehow I don’t think I’d like it as much if I’d reread the series. (And, agreed, Clary is super annoying.) But have you thought about giving The Infernal Devices a try? That trilogy is infinitely better, in my opinion.

    Summer

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nadwa @ painfullyfictional says:

      Yes, I could relate, actually. I’m pretty sure there are a lot of books that I’ve read at some point and really liked but I don’t think I’d like them as much if I reread them now. I have thought about giving TID series a try, I was told they were so much better than the TMI series!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Analee @ Book Snacks says:

    Haha I loved reading this! I personally liked City of Bones but I so get why you DNF’d it haha. Do you plan on ever picking it up again? I haven’t read That Summer yet, but I’m sorry to hear it wasn’t as good as her other books, maybe. 😊 Lovely post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

