Faithful Book Review

book-review

[I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review]
I was so excited to dig into this book when I first read the synopsis. And I was ecstatic when the publisher approved my request!
I was honestly hooked from the very first chapter; Imogene and Lauren’s friendship was to die for. Actually, every relationship in that town was so beautifully portrayed. Familial love, friendship, and marriage… It was all very engaging to read about. I rooted for the seniors; everyone was hilarious. Jess and Carson were hilarious; especially at the end. Dylan was so funny he made me cry. Leo and Lauren were so friggin adorable. The scene where the high school girls were being lectured by Imogene was kcuffing hilarious.
Imogene is one of the very few protagonists that I adored. What with her ‘kcuff it’ attitude and the way she treats her customers when she’s in a bad mood (but really, mostly always):

After I serve decaf coffee to everyone who asked for regular and regular to all those who asked for decaf and gave away free ice cream to all the kids whose parents said ‘no sugar!’…

Yes, she had an attitude and was downright rude. But she honestly surprised me when I was halfway into the book, with her mature decisions and then when she latched on to her dream of getting married and making a family. She wasn’t blinded by her love for Cooper, and for that I respected her endlessly. That is the kind of picture that should be portrayed in romance novels. Responsibility and maturity to go along with passionate love and adoration.
Cooper was so sweet and considerate. The way he pined after Imogene was so damn hot and just downright swoony. I couldn’t with all his smart remarks and his gifts. I can’t believe what he did to help with Lauren and Imogene’s business. It was all so thoughtful and so friggin sweet. I can’t even.
And I didn’t let myself imagine how he looks like with glasses on, but that scene had me cracking up:

“When are we getting married?”
“I haven’t planned past today.”
“Fine. You’re forcing me to bring out the big guns.” Cooper removes his glasses from the inside of his T-shirt collar and slides them on.
“Yep. That’ll do it.”

I loved it when Imogene drove all the way to Brooklyn to see him and his mother. That scene with Fiona made me tear up really bad. I was on the verge of sobbing when she asked her to take that photo album.
Overall, this was an incredibly well-written novel that doesn’t only deal with how Imogene found her one true love, but also herself. I personally saw this novel as a coming-of-age, so that was a really pleasant surprise. I loved the whole squad, the parents, the grandparents, the seniors, the young couples, Cooper’s fam, and the babies. Will definitely have to check out the previous books if they’re anywhere near as good as this one.

5


synopsis

Faithful (Fearsome, #3) by S.A. Wolfe

23167030

 

A bombshell waitress who wants more. A former FBI agent who wants less … except for her.

*This is a standalone novel in the FEARSOME Series.

Imogene Walsh has always been unapologetically confident and ruthlessly opinionated with people, particularly men. No one is spared from her unfiltered mouth, but it hasn’t seemed to deter Cooper MacKenzie. Although he is not the clean-cut, businessman type she’s always thought she should pursue, Imogene is drawn to the sexy outsider who is the hottest topic in town gossip, the fantasy heartthrob women love to speculate about.

She has spent most of her life in the little town of Hera, NY, putting her numerous forgettable relationships behind her and floundering in both her professional and personal life. Work and men—neither have gone well for her. Now it’s reached the point where she wants to stop playing it safe.

It may be time to live up to her tough reputation and take a chance on Cooper, the only man who isn’t intimidated by Imogene’s brash personality. However, it could be a thrilling ride that doesn’t end well.

 

Leave a Reply

