We’re My OTP: Cresswell

Cresswell.png

“Captain?”
“Yeah?”
“Do you think it was destiny that brought us together?”
He squinted and, after a thoughtful moment, shook his head. “No. I’m pretty sure it was Cinder.”
Marissa Meyer, Cress

Hi guys!!

So, I finally got the courage to write this post. I was pretty nervous, to say the least. It’s my very first meme, and I wanted everything to be perfect. And I wanted to choose the perfect OTP to start this new meme with. And yes, I chose my babies, Cress and Thorne aka Cresswell. It just feels like a good ship to start this whole meme with. So without further ado, let’s dig into this thing, shall we?

We’re My OTP

Every week, I’ll be picking a ship. And I’ll be fangirling about everything they did and said to each other, and maybe -hopefully- discussing the couple in the comments-section below. If you’ve heard the song already, you’ll understand how it goes. One of the two members of this particular ship will be basically singing the song to their *lover*, LIKE HOW FRIGGIN CUTE WOULD THAT BE??!

Guys, I just want to make one thing clear; don’t feel obligated to do the same ship I chose. You can pick ANY ship you want, it doesn’t matter.

And please pingback to my post so I could see yours. Copy the URL of this post and add it to your post so I could be notified.


tumblr_nh03p1jgac1qzb19eo1_r1_500This week, We’re My OTP will definitely be sung by Cress. We know how much time she’s spent staring at Thorne on her computer screen in that satellite of hers. I think there is a huge possibility that she’s written a fanfic, too. That wouldn’t surprise me at all.


60952423f7385a74c20c1a78b3507632

What I love about Cress is that she isn’t afraid to actually say what’s on her mind. She felt like she was starting to fall for Thorne, so she simply told him. There was no ‘what if he doesn’t like me back’ kind of fear going on there, you know? She has never fallen for anyone before, she literally had zero human-interaction because Sybil definitely doesn’t count. She fell for Thorne, who she thought was totally out of her league, and just told him straight-on how she felt:

“Captain,” she murmured.
“I think I’m in love with you.”
An eyebrow shot up. She counted six beats of his heart before, suddenly, he laughed.
“Don’t tell me it took you two whole days to realize that. I must be losing my touch.”

Of course, we can always count on Thorne to render an awkward moment hilarious and save the day. This is actually one of my favorite scenes ever.

Cress must be the most hilarious book I’ve read. I didn’t know that romance and comedy could mix so well, but dammit. I know there are a lot rom-coms out there, but Cress is definitely something else.

Let’s go back to the first Cress-Thorne encounter ever. It’s been a while since I’ve read the book, but I remember when Thorne first saw Cress on that screen and was all like:

tumblr_nral7aqnyz1uaezmwo1_1280

Talk about awkward moments. Thorne, honey, give a girl a break.

Wha—where’d she go?” Thorne’s voice came to her through the screen.

“Honestly, Thorne.” A girl. Linh Cinder? “Do you ever think before you speak?”

“What? What did I say?”

” ‘Is that all hair?’ ”

“Did you see it? It was like a cross between a magpie nest and ball of yarn after it’s been mauled by a cheetah.”

A beat. Then, “A cheetah?”

“It was the first big cat that came to mind.”

What I love about Thorne and Cress, is the fact that Thorne fell in love with her blind (except for a little while at the beginning before the satellite crashed). And for someone who is driven by looks alone, that must’ve been tough for him. But he fell in love with her for who she is, and not how she looks. I actually read that somewhere at some point after I finished Cress, and thought it was so accurate and oh-so-sweet.

Remember that scene with Thorne and Kai in the podship? Where Kai basically told Thorne to get his shit together and be a better man for Cress after Thorne told him that she deserved someone better. And what she sees in him isn’t really who he is. That particular scene gave me alllll the feeeeeels.

large (2)Annnd that scene where Cress literally started sobbing when they were in a desert and she had a serious fever and was all like:

“I promise, I will not let you die without being kissed.”

“I’m dying now.”

“You are not dying.”

“But—”

“I will be the judge of when you are dying, and when that happens I will guarantee you will get a kiss worth waiting for. But right now, you have to get up.”

I’m loving bossy Captain Carswell. It certainly suits him.

And finally:

cress_and_thorne_by_taratjah-d9gtbj1

“Captain?”
“Cress.”
She couldn’t not say it, although she realized he was right.It was sort of scary. Much scarier than it had been the first time she’d told him, out in the desert. It was different now. It was real. “I’m in love with you.”

He chuckled. “I should hope so, after all that.” He leaned forward and pressed a kiss against her temple. “And I love you too.”

giphy-8

ANNNNND SCENE.

That’s a wrap!

P.S. I do not own any of the GIFs or fanarts. I got them all via GIPHY and WeHeartIt.

21 thoughts on “We’re My OTP: Cresswell

  1. TwinBookmarks says:

    This is soooo cute!!…We didn’t read the book *hides* But we did read the first 2 and hopefully get time to read this book!! We’ve heard practically everywhere that the third book, Cress is their favourite!!😊 Cool meme thingie you’ve created 👌

    Liked by 1 person

  2. May @ Forever and Everly says:

    Ohhhhhh myyyy gosssssh. NADWA. STOP. NOW I WANT TO REREAD SCARLET AND CRESS (my favorites of the series lol) BECAUSE THE ROMANCES ARE ALL SO FRIGGIN CUTE. Omgggggg like honestly the quotes and the fanart were perfect and I ENJOYED THIS WAY TOO MUCH??? My stomach feels weird. The way it does when I fangirl too much. STOP. HONESTLY CRESSWELL IS SO CUTE AND I’LL GO DIE IN A HOLE NOW BECAUSE HOW CAN I COMPARE TO THEM.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nadwa @ painfullyfictional says:

      IKR?! CRESSWELL AND WOLFLET ARE MY FAVORITE SHIPS IN THE SERIES!! THANK YOU SO MUCH, MAY!!! 😍😍💘 KEEPING THE ALL-CAPS OFF WHILE TALKING TO YOU IS LITERALLY IMPOSSIBLE FOR SOME REASON..?? YOU BRING OUT THE HARDCORE FANGIRL SELF IN ME, GIRL! 😍 I’M SO GLAD YOU LIKED THE POST. THANK YOUU 😭💘💘

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Reading with Rendz says:

    *INTENSE MANIACAL LAUGHTER, SQUEALS AND GIGGLES* CRESSSSSSSSSSSSSWWWWWWWWWWWWWEEEEEEEEELLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL
    MY OTP FOR LIFE, FOR EONS, FOREVERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!! EVERY POINT, EVERY QUOTE, EVERY GIF AND PIECE OF FANART YOU JUST USED MADE ME OOZE WITH FEELS AND LAUGH!! CRESS IS A TOTAL AWKWARD CUTEY AND THORNE IS THE HILARIOUS HOTTIE TOGETHER THEY ARE MAGIC AND MAKE ME SQUEAL AND GIGGLE UNCONTROLLABLY! CRESS IS MY FAVE CHARACTER MOSTLY BECAUSE I RESEMBLE HER SOCIAL INEPTNESS AND TO BE HONEST I WOULD FALL IN LOVE WITH I GUY I’VE NEVER MET EITHER IF I HAD ENOUGH TIME TO IMAGINE MY FUTURE WITH HIM LOLOLOL. I LOVE THIS POST. I LOVE THIS SHIP. I LOVE THIS SERIES. I LOVE THORNE… A LOT. JUST A LOT OF LOVE AND FEELS TODAY. AND IN ALL CAPS BECAUSE I’M LITERALLY SCREAMING IN MY HEAD *pants*

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Julianna @ Blots of Ink and Words says:

    AHHHH I ACTUALLY LOVE CRESSWELL SO MUCH???????

    AND AGHHH I LITERALLY JUST FINISHED READING STARS ABOVE AND I WAS READING THE CRESS AND THORNE STORIES AND THEY JUST GAVE ME ALL THE FEELS??

    I loooove that quote at the beginning of the post!

    You know what I reallly liked? When Cress was talking about how Thorne “really was” and how he wasn’t actually scamming them but it turned out that Thorne actually faked all of that?? And then Cress still loved him? THAT PART SPOKE TO MY HEART, THOUGH.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nadwa @ painfullyfictional says:

      OH MY GOD. UHM UHMMMM i kinda sorta haven’t read Stars Above yet…. *cringes* My sister has been badgering me for ages and she’s literally spoiled the whole thing but I’ll definitely be reading it and Fairest during my series re-read.
      THAT PART WAS THE MOST HILARIOUS AND SWOON-WORTHY PART EVER. But it says a lot, you know? How you’d have this perfect picture of a certain person and think they are, like, flawless or something, but then reality hits you in the face and you learn that they’re just human with mistakes and flaws and all. AND YESSS, the fact that Cress loved him despite all that was just OMIGAHD 😭😭😍💘 THE FEEEEEELS

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate says:

    Aaaaawww I love this meme!!! I love that we get to fangirl about our ships every week or so! ❤ ❤
    I think Cresswell is really adorable and fun. Although my TLC OTP is definitely Wolf/Scarlet (Wolflet? Scolf? Who knows XD ) I still love Thorne and Cress to bits. I'm still not sure if I ship them, but I really like them. And those quotes/extracts made me go all "aaawww!!" because I didn't remember how they'd played out too well.
    Lovely post, Nadwa! I really want to use this meme sometime 🙂 Thank you for creating it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nadwa @ painfullyfictional says:

      Wolflet (dude, I really hate that ship name, there isn’t one appropriate ship name for these two, what the heck?!) is actually my second favorite ship in the series! I know how it feels! I literally had to google the quotes because it’s been ages since I’ve read TLC! AHHH THANK YOU!! 😍💘 I’d love to see your post and what ship you’ll be choosing!! 😄

      Liked by 1 person

        • Nadwa @ painfullyfictional says:

          AH THAT’S THE POINT!! It’s hoping for the ship to sail that counts. I sometimes ship two people even though I’d be sure they’d never be together. There’d be these stolen moments that only the shippers notice, which I love 😂 And I’ve always imagined that baby wolf cubs would be called Wolflets for some reason..?! 😂

          Liked by 1 person

          • Sophie @ Blame Chocolate says:

            Aaaahhh awesome!! This meme is perfect for me then XD
            I know, right? When people are like “why do you even like them? They didn’t like each other” I just start listing every single side-eyed glance, gesture and word ever spoken between the two characters, which are obviously indicators of deep, ruthless passion. Non-shippers just don’t understand! XD
            You know what? It does sound like a wolf cub hahaha That only makes it more adorable! ❤

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

