Three Weeks With A Princess Book Review

book-review

[I received a free advance review copy in exchange for an honest review]
My first ever historical fiction book, and I’d say it went very well!!
Although I don’t have previous books to compare it to, I actually found that this book makes me want to read more books from this genre. Regency, London, plays, dancing… It was all very overwhelming, and extremely fascinating, to say the least. Though I’d say that Lia was a little naive at times…
Gillian was my favorite, to be honest. Her tomboyish attitude isn’t something I expected to find in a historical fiction book, which was very compelling. She spiced up the story, and made it thoroughly interesting and funny. Her and Charles’ bickering was just downright hilarious. Bossing him around and all that. She was more like a duke than a duchess, to be honest.
Loved the childhood best friends to lovers trope going on *squeals*. I enjoyed seeing one of my favorite tropes come to life… in the 1800’s. Never in a million years would I have imagined myself reading a book set in the 1800’s, let alone saying that! But dammit, I loved Lia’s and Jack’s arguments. They were very comical and interesting to read.
The writing style was incredibly fancy, it truly makes you feel like you’re living in England and in the 1800’s. I absolutely loved Lia’s character transformation, and her discovering a bunch of family members along the way and realizing how much they root for her.
The pace was a little slow at first, but I’d say that was somewhat necessary to make the reader feel settled in the world they’re diving into.
I absolutely loved this book. Will definitely have to check Mrs Kelly’s other books soon, if they’re anywhere near as good as this one!

4


Three Weeks with a Princess by Vanessa Kelly

 

Three Weeks with a Princess (The Improper Princesses, #2)
by Vanessa Kelly

Lia Kincaid, illegitimate daughter of the Duke of York, comes from a long line of notorious women. Raised by her grandmother, formerly mistress to the late Marquess of Lendale, she has little hope of a respectable marriage. But the new marquess, her childhood friend, Jack Easton, would make a very desirable protector . . . if he weren’t too honorable to take her to bed.

It’s bad enough being saddled with a title he never desired. Now Jack must resist the beautiful woman he desires far too much. Duty calls, and he is duty-bound to choose a wealthy bride. But then Lia makes another outrageous suggestion: asking Jack to devise some tests to find her the perfect paramour. Tests that involve flirting, kissing, and other pleasurable pursuits. Tests that, in a matter of weeks, could transform friendship into the ton’s greatest scandal, igniting a passion even duty can’t deny. . .

Expected publication: June 27th 2017 by Zebra

Pre-order on Amazon

2 thoughts on “Three Weeks With A Princess Book Review

Leave a Reply

