Heir of Fire Book Review (spoilers ahead)

book-review

“She was the heir of ash and fire, and she would bow to no one.”

I don’t know where to start with this one. Honestly? I didn’t understand all the hype for this series until I started Heir of Fire. I loved Rowan and Aelin’s thing. They’d be constantly bickering and fighting and I’d sit there and be like: Go at it, kids. Fight all you want, you’re going to fall for each other soon. And although there wasn’t any clear sign that they’ll end up together or if anything’s going to come out of this thing they have at all, Rowaelin is officially my OTP, for better or for worse, like I previously said on Goodreads, I have enough faith in my OTP to just let them be. And I’ve sneaked enough glances at tumblr, pinterest, we heart it, and Goodreads to know that this fandom has a too many ships to count. But to me, Rowaelin feels like endgame. And there’s nothing you can do to shake or alter a fangirl’s intuition, now, can you?

“I claim you, Rowan Whitethorn. I don’t care what you say and how much you protest. I claim you as my friend.”

Rowaelin cuddles because I can

“Their hands clasped between them, he whispered into her ear, “I claim you, too, Aelin Galathynius.”

I mean, they haven’t even kissed yet, but that’s a million times more romantic than a friggin kiss (which I’m still waiting on, nonetheless)

I loved reading from Manon’s POV. At first, hers were my least favorite chapters. I literally had no idea what was going on. But then Abraxos came into the picture and I fell in love. It reminded me a lot of How to Train Your Dragon for some reason. And it just felt like I finally, finally, understood what reading fantasy was all about. Witches and clans and covens… it was all very overwhelming and gorgeously portrayed. And through those couple of chapters in which we got to understand Manon and the Thirteenth, I saw a glamorous character transformation. And no matter how many times she said that she has no soul and no heart or whatever horseshit she fed us through those pages, her mere act of choosing Abraxos proved otherwise. And I loved her for that. For standing up for herself and her mount, for challenging her grandmother, if only through a glare.Image result for abraxos

I don’t know what to say about Chaol, to be honest. I’m not a big fan of his. He reminds me of Adam from Shatter Me. I know that he’ll always be in love with Celaena. But that’s just it, he’s in love with Celaena, not Aelin. And it just feels like he’s repulsed by what she truly is, Fae, gifted, assassin, whatever. Dorian, I sympathized with. I knew from the beginning that nothing’s going to come out of his relationship with Sorscha. But what his father, not the king -nope- none of that, did at the end. Aedion I rooted for, I loved him to pieces. He reminded me of Rhysand, just a little bit. Holding and maintaining his court for the sliver of hope that maybe, possibly, his queen may return someday. And he’d have done his part, as a member of the court, of Terrasen. And his sacrifice at the end for the sake of Chaol, when he said that he just didn’t want to stand in front of his queen and tell her that the man she used to love has passed, didn’t want to look like a coward in front of his queen, but rather he wanted to be a martyr, a true Ashryver, a childhood best friend, I just couldn’t with all the feels.

5


20613470

Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3)

by Sarah J. Maas

Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak―but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life―and her future―forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed?

The bestselling series that has captured readers all over the world reaches new heights in this sequel to the New York Timesbest-selling Crown of Midnight. Packed with heart-pounding action, fierce new characters, and swoon-worthy romance, this third book will enthrall readers from start to finish.

15 thoughts on “Heir of Fire Book Review (spoilers ahead)

  1. Fire-Breathing Book Dragon says:

    Great review! That picture of Aelin and Rowan is so adorable and cute! Heir of Fire is by far my favourite SJM book. It’s when everything changed from great to legendary. I also hated Manon’s chapters at first because we have no idea who she is or what she is supposed to be doing. But now she’s awesome! And I think I read a tweet once about how Manon’s and Abraxos’s story is just like How To Train Your Dragon on Crystal Meth or something like that but it’s so true 😂!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nadwa @ painfullyfictional says:

      Thank you!! 😍 Oh Gosh, yes. There’s a lot of mind blowing Throne of Glass fanart out there. But this one’s probably my favorite. I mean, look at the way Rowan’s looking at Aelin, for crying out loud 😭💘 I agree, although I haven’t read the other books in the series, this one is by far my favorite SJM book after ACOMAF. And Manon’s just amazing. Like, she truly surprised me throughout the book! 😍 I can’t wait to see what’s going to happen to everyone in the next books.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Fire-Breathing Book Dragon says:

        Yeah!! There’s this other one that’s very similar to this one but it’s from the next book so I won’t say a thing 🤐. But the emotions are so clear in the image and I cried the first time I saw it, that’s how beautiful it is. She seriously is! And then she just becomes more and more badass as we get to know her! Ahaha you will suffer greatly, especially in Empire of Storms. I’m warning you, the ending might just rip your heart out!
        (Sorry for replying so late but for some reason I didn’t get a notification from your reply. I just found out.)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. thebookcorps says:

    Great review Nadwa! Heir of Fire is one of my favourite novels in this series! I loved the tension between Aelin and Rowan, it was so amazing. (I was going to say something else, but it’s potentially a spoiler, so I’ll wait for you to finish book 4 or 5 lol) ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate says:

    I totally agree on the Manon bit. Her chapters, at first, didn’t interest me at all and I kept thinking “Why? Why are we getting these chapters about witches? I don’t get it!” But then Abraxos came into the picture and, you’re right, it totally gave me those How to Train Your Dragon vibes and made me a fan! I still enjoyed Abraxos a bit more than Manon, though. I loved her a lot more in Queen of Shadows.
    I personally don’t like Rowaelin. I loved them when they were platonic, but not as a couple. My ship will always be Chaolin ❤ But to each his own!
    Great review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. emilymbird says:

    Awesome review! Heir of Fire is definitely my favorite in the series. I especially loved Manon’s character arc and development. I think her and Abraxos are my OTP haha. And I think your assessment of Chaol is pretty spot on. It makes me sad though, I liked him SO MUCH in Throne of Glass. I don’t really like how Maas handled his character development. As Aelin embraces her identity and as Maas introduces witches and magic and Fae warriors, Chaol stays human and just gets kinda bitter about it all? And then that gets really tiresome. I’m so curious what you’ll think of Queen of Shadows and Empire of Storms! Can’t wait for you to read them!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nadwa @ painfullyfictional says:

      OH MY GOD I USED TO SHIP THEM AT FIRST BUT THEN I WAS LIKE, wait, am I supposed to? Umm idk idc. I loved reading about Manon and Abraxos! I’ve never really been a fan of Chaol’s. It just looks like SJM has included him to be the trigger to Aelin’s character transformation, sort of..? UGHH I CANT WAIT TO READ THE REST OF THE BOOKS!! Thank you!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

