Lucky Charmed Book Review: HAPPY RELEASE DAY!

book-review

[I received a free advance review copy in exchange for an honest review]

description

The second I finished this book, I just wanted to start it all over again. And if there wasn’t a huge pile of TBR constantly poking me and reminding me of its very well noted presence, I would’ve done just that. There’s something about the writing style that just grabbed me. It was so easy and whimsical and hilarious, that it made me want to read every other book written by this author.
I personally loved Charmed. Carmen’s hating on her hometown and its people was the most hilarious thing. But I get it, how gossip-worthy anyone’s story is in a small town like hers. And it’s incredibly frustrating to move on when everyone’s constantly reminding you of your mistakes or your long lost lover who left you stranded in a parking lot, for crying out loud. Or people judging you because they literally have nothing better to do. Of course, that’s not what I loved about Charmed. What I loved was Lanie and Ally and Larry and Bash and Carmen’s mom. And I couldn’t help but sympathize with Dean, despite all his stupidity. He was in love with a woman who was in love with another man. AH the love triangle trope. Couldn’t have been portrayed any better.
The vibe of the story was all-around positive, hilarious and swoon-worthy. And somehow, that made the intense scenes… even more intense..? There’s definitely something different about this one, because… Okay well, here’s a confession; I cried. I cried when Carmen learned the truth about Sully’s departure. I don’t know what it is, but that level of selflessness just made me want to sob my eyeballs out. And here’s the thing, I didn’t even cry while reading Colleen Hoover’s books. Although her books were certainly the definition of INTENSE. This one just hit me. Hard. Maybe it’s because I wasn’t expecting it. But dammit, it was good.
Carmen is the person I’d want to be like when I’m in my 30’s. She still has her childish innocence and she’s so carefree and… definitely not 33. I actually had to remind myself that she’s 33 with a job. SHE’S A LAWYER, FOR GOD’S SAKE. But that doesn’t stop her from having a sleepover with her 33 year-old BFF. ATTA GIRL. I just LOVED that.

5

 

Lucky Charmed by Sharla Lovelace

Lucky Charmed by Sharla Lovelace

Charmed, Texas, is as warm and welcoming as it sounds. But even in a small town, when it comes to love, sometimes you’ve got to take the bitter with the sweet . . .

Carmen Frost hates honey. And bees. And in her hometown of Charmed, Texas, which practically invented the stuff, that’s a problem. The good news is that the summer Honey Festival is finally over. Even better, so is the annual Lucky Hart carnival, a road show that made off with her dreams years ago—including the boy she loved. Now she’s got a divorce behind her, and a successful law career in front of her, but in a tiny town, big memories die hard. Or they don’t die at all—as Carmen discovers when she runs into an all too familiar pair of eyes—older, wiser, and just as heart-melting as ever . . .

Sully Hart has had enough of the nomad lifestyle. Travelling with his father’s carnival gave him adventures, but it cost him much more. Now he’s home to stay, contracted to create an entertainment complex in Charmed. He wants roots, a house with a yard and all the mundane pleasures that go with it. But the girl he loved has become a woman who still wants freedom. Can she still want him? It seems he and Carmen are at each other’s throats one minute—and on each other’s lips the next. Someone’s gotta give . . .

Expected publication: July 18th 2017 by Lyrical Shine

Pre-order on Amazon

7 thoughts on “Lucky Charmed Book Review: HAPPY RELEASE DAY!

Leave a Reply

