We’re My OTP: Ninias? Helnik? HELP!

#1Feysand

“I loved your laugh, Nina. And your fierce warrior’s heart. I might have loved you, too.”

Yes, I know, I did this meme once and it just basically disappeared from the face of the Earth. But I created it to fangirl if, and only if, I was in terrible need for fangirling. Otherwise it wouldn’t be as good of a post, and the fangirling wouldn’t come from the bottom of my fangirl heart. And we wouldn’t want that, now, would we? It’s supposed to be a post in which I get to freak out over how cute my OTP is, and no one would get to blame me or point fingers. lol.

So here’s my OTP for this post. One that apparently, the world has not yet come up with an official ship name for. My babies for this week are Nina Zenik & Matthias Helvar. The minute they were introduced in Six Of Crows, I just knew, they were ENDGAME. At least to me.

AND PLEASE NO CROOKED KINGDOM SPOILERS, I’M STILL READING THE BOOK!

We’re My OTP

Every week, I’ll be picking a ship. And I’ll be fangirling about everything they did and said to each other, and maybe -hopefully- discussing the couple in the comments-section below. If you’ve heard the song already, you’ll understand how it goes. One of the two members of this particular ship will be basically singing the song to their *lover*, LIKE HOW FRIGGIN CUTE WOULD THAT BE??!

I’m a hopeless romantic. I love cliches. Forbidden love. MUSIC TO MY EARS, DEAR. So when my OTP were hating on each other, Matthias dreaming about killing Nina, Matthias almost choking Nina to death… UGH I LOVED THOSE.

No, I’m not a sadist.

But. We all know how fine the line is between hate and lust.

“It’s not natural for women to fight.”
“It’s not natural for someone to be as stupid as he is tall, and yet here you stand.”

AND I LOVED SEEING THEIR RELATIONSHIP COME TO LIFE. Enemies to lovers is my favorite trope. 

“I’m a very valuable investment.”

“Tell me he didn’t say that.”

“Of course he did. Well, not the valuable part.”
“Idiot.”

“How’s Matthias?”

“Also an idiot.” 

Nina & Inej -Six of Crows

Honestly? One of my favorite scenes was when Matthias said that Fjerdan oath to Nina. I NEARLY DIED.

“I have been made to protect you. Only in death will I be kept from this oath. It was the vow of the druskelle to Fjerda. And now it was Matthias’ promise to her.”

Image result for otp feels gif

iamitniejane

I couldn’t search for Crooked Kingdom quotes because I didn’t want to get spoiled. But I remember a couple of scenes that seriously had me fanning myself. And I’m going to be honest here, Matthias’ and Nina’s scenes are usually my favorites. I always look forward to their banters. Nina’s the most hilarious person ever, leave it to her to lighten up the mood. And I’m literally in love with Matthias’ grumpiness.

“Stay,” she panted. Tears leaked from her eyes. “Stay till the end.”
“And after,” he said. “And always.”
“I want to feel safe again. I want to go home to Ravka.”
“Then I’ll take you there. We’ll set fire to raisins or whatever you heathens do for fun.”
“Zealot,” she said weakly.
“Witch.”
“Barbarian.”
“Nina,” he whispered. “Little red bird. Don’t go.”

It’s surreal, how these two soldiers, meant to fight each other, have reached a point where they found solace in each other. That never fails to fascinate me.

The real reason why I decided to do this post was because of that scene with Nina & Matthias in the Ravkan embassy. That was seriously HOT. Matthias’ inexperience is so freaking cute. AND THAT FIRST KISS WILL BE FOREVER EMBEDDED IN MY MEMORY.

If I don’t see mini Ninas and mini Matthiases squealing and goofing around by the end of the book, I’m writing an honest-to-God email to Leigh Bardugo complaining about just that.

11 thoughts on “We’re My OTP: Ninias? Helnik? HELP!

  1. May @ Forever and Everly says:

    OH MY GOD OH MY GOD YOU HAVEN’T READ CROOKED KINGDOM YET AASFGNDKLSLDKGFK.

    Well um basically these two are the cutest and amazing and so great (as well as the other ships!!!) AND THAT FANART. 😍 Also I’m going to cry now because of many things I won’t specify. TELL ME WHEN YOU FINISH CK. (You will be crushed.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Birdie says:

    Nina and Matthias were so awesome! I actually really loved that the three relationships were all so different. Kaz and Inej are so angsty, Jesper and Wylan felt flirty and light, and of course Nina and Mathias were the most romantic. Such a great series.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

