Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo Book Review

book-review

good objects

First things first, I want to acknowledge how incredibly mind-blowing this series is. I had a hard time engrossing myself into Six of Crows at first. The beginning made no sense to me whatsoever. I didn’t really know what I was getting myself into other than the fact that I was going to be able to understand what everyone’s going crazy about with that book. My first time reading it, I had a lot to take in. And I don’t think I grasped everything I was supposed to be acknowledging at that moment; diversity, the fact that for once, I was reading from the “bad” guy’s POV, and what it was like to sympathize with the thief, the murderer, the gambler. Again, I don’t think I understood all that the first time around. But I got to read some reviews afterwards and found myself shocked at my lack of appreciation of that world and its characters. Which made me reread Six of Crows and follow it with Crooked Kingdom.
Now, I’d like to say that my standards for the next fantasy book are way too high, I’m looking at you, This Savage Song, with that being said, I want to point out a couple of stuff that really frustrated me at the end of Crooked Kingdom.
First things first, the ending.
Okay, I know that this is Ketterdam we’re talking about, and actual happily ever afters are kind of off the table, and that what we got at the end is the closest thing we could actually get to a happy ending. But I wanted MORE. It felt like the start, for some reason, and not the beginning. Like, maybe this could be turned into a 10-books series? Pretty please? It could work!

Spoilers!

I wanted to know what Nina did when she arrived to Fjerda. How she’d save some druskelle and change their minds about Grisha. IDK. I might’ve also wanted Matthias to come back. A more intense reaction from Nina? Because mine was definitely more severe than hers. (He was my favorite, okay?!) I may or may not have wanted Nina & Matthias to wed and have lots and lots of mini Ninas and mini Matthiases running around, but that’s only because I’m an overly-sentimental hopeless romantic, and that might not have been realistic, but whatever.
AND I wanted to see them changing the world together like they planned to do so many times.
It was so frustrating!
Kaz was amazing, as usual. It was always so much fun to tryto predict what his next move was. I loved what he did for Inej during the last couple of chapters. Whether it was freeing her debt completely from the Menagerie and Per Haskell or bringing her parents to Ketterdam.
Also loved how they inserted Jesper’s father into their wicked plan! Wylan was incredible, too. I probably sympathized with him the most, actually.
Also, epic character transformations going on there. The book was plot-driven & character-driven, equally. And that’s something to appreciate.

5

22299763

Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows, #2)

by Leigh Bardugo

Welcome to the world of the Grisha.

After pulling off a seemingly impossible heist in the notorious Ice Court, criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker feels unstoppable. But life is about to take a dangerous turn—and with friends who are among the deadliest outcasts in Ketterdam city, Kaz is going to need more than luck to survive in this unforgiving underworld.

Order the book on Amazon:

amazon, ecommerce, shopping icon

Or add it to your Goodreads TBR bookshelf:

goodreads icon

26 thoughts on “Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo Book Review

  1. May @ Forever and Everly says:

    AAAAAGGGGHH CROOKED KINGDOOOOOM. Did the ending not kill you or what. I agree that there could’ve been SO much more, but at the same time, it’s nice that it gives us room to wonder! I so agree that this book was both character- and plot-driven though. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Birdie says:

    I wondered how you’d handle the end, especially after your OTP post. My heart hurt for you. It was hard to read, and it definitely didn’t give you happy endings. For some of them you got hope, and for others you got tragedy. (I do agree about Nina’s reaction not being powerful enough. Especially after all the time she waited to rescue him.)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Haven says:

    ASDFGHJK This book broke me into a million little pieces. I totally agree with your comment on this duology being turned into a 10-book series, there’s so much richness and intricacy in Bardugo’s world, I just want more! Overall, great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ashley (The Infinite Library) says:

    I think everyone’s in the same boat with wanting more from these books. Also, yep no real happy endings. Why did [insert character] have to die?! My poor ship! I’m also interested in what would have happened with Nina afterwards. I have high hopes that at least maybe one day Kaz and Inej would have got some kind of a happy ending. And Jasper and Wylan.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nadwa @ painfullyfictional says:

      It took a while to actually immerse the fact that [the character] died into my mind. I flew through the stages of grief real fast, but it was super intense 😂 I think Nina’s story could really work and become an actual series. Also, her chapters were my fav to read because she was literally the most hilarious character! And it sort of feels like we got closure with Wylan & Jesper, unlike the other characters.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ashley (The Infinite Library) says:

        I was a bit the same. I was like really? Did that just happen??? Nina’s great. She’s relatable as well as funny. Anyone who loves waffles as much as I do immediately steals my heart haha. Yes, at least Wylan and Jesper got some closure. After everything they went through, they deserved it. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

