Called Up by Jen Doyle ARC Review

book-review
[I was generously provided with a free review copy by the author in exchange for an honest review; that doesn’t affect my review in any way]
I read the third book in the series a couple of months ago, and it instantly made it to my ‘favorites’ shelf. That being said, my expectations were super high for this one. I think it would’ve definitely made it to that very same shelf if it weren’t for a couple of -what I’d call- shortcomings within the book.
Fitz is seriously a character I’d add to my “badass-heroines” list. Needless to say, she’s got to be my favorite character in the series, so far. Her past was tragic. But her forgiving and selfless mind-set was so inspiring and beautiful. I honestly don’t know how a person who’s gone through the things she has could possibly continue on with their life like she did, she’s absolutely incredible. I definitely sympathized with her, especially after reading the part were she talked about how the whole school knew who she was, and all the bullying she had to go through, and then her getting stuck with that “nickname”, it was awful. I loved Nate so much. I’d sometimes forget that she wasn’t his actual sister with all the over-protectiveness going on, but I enjoyed every second of it. Then Deke was this super hopeless-romantic guy with this cool demeanor below which lies that vulnerable side of his which made me weak to my knees. He was so patient and loving and him noticing the little things about Fitz that no one else noticed was a sight to behold.
It felt like the first 70% of the book was a little slow-paced, and there were way too many minor characters that were introduced, which messed up with my head. It felt like that part mainly consisted of flashbacks rather than actual present events, which made the book a little harder to get into.
All in all, this book was a hopeful story about two best friends that basically saved each other and altered each other’s lives incredibly. The character transformations were remarkable. And the writing style has proven to be one of my favorite things about Mrs Doyle’s novels!

 

5

30237695

Called Up(Calling It #2)

There’s one thing Max “Deke” Deacon can always count on besides his old high school teammates: Angelica “Fitz” Hawkins. But no matter how much Deke might secretly fantasize otherwise, a relationship with his best friend’s sister is off limits. Until one unexpectedly smoldering encounter has Deke and Fitz giving in to the feelings they’ve both been fighting for far too long.

Fitz knows for a fact that it is not better to have loved and lost. After losing her parents, she’d rather lock up her heart and throw away the key than endure that kind of pain again. If that means giving up any hope of a lasting relationship, then so be it.

But with Deke, Fitz feels dangerously close to falling in love. She can’t risk another broken heart—especially if it means losing one of her best friends for good. Now it’s up to Deke to convince her that the safest place she could ever be is right here with him.

Get your copy on Amazon

One thought on “Called Up by Jen Doyle ARC Review

Leave a Reply

